Heavy Cream Cake

May is the month of celebration in my family. We celebrate so many birthdays and wedding anniversaries of my family members..
My recent visit to the grocery I had bought a big carton of Heavy whipping cream. I wanted to use this as my ingredient to bake the cakes. The Heavy whipping cream carton had this lovely recipe, I tried one evening, when my daughters friends were coming over for working on a project. It was a great hit among the kids. The following day was a cousins birthday, remember I mentioned this month is month of birthdays in my family :)… Baked this cake for her.. I was on a baking marathon this weekend.. So love Baking..:) 🙂 .. This recipe is so easy, my daughter also started to help me and for the second batch she helped a lot to mix the batter..

HeavyCreamCake

Ingredients

heavy whipping cream 1 cup
eggs 2 (@room temperature)
white sugar ½ – ¾ cup
baking powder 1¼ tsp
all-purpose flour 1½ cups
salt ½ tsp
vanilla essence 1 tsp

for assembling (optional step)
baseboard for the cake
raspberry/strawberry preserve/jam 1 cup
whipping cream for frosting
fresh fruits for decoration

Method

Preheat oven to 350 deg Fahrenheit.
Prepare a baking pan by applying butter/cooking spray and dust with flour.
Mix the all-purpose flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.
In another big bowl pour the heavy whipping cream.
Beat the heavy whipping cream using a hand mixer till stiff peaks.
Add one egg at a time and continue to beat.
Add the sugar, vanilla essence and continue to beat till fluffy and light.
Add the dry ingredients and beat till everything is combined well.
Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan.
Bake for 30-35 mins or until golden brown top and the tooth pick comes out clean when poked into the cake.
Note: if the batter is divided into 2 pans you will need to reduce baking time, 20 mins was just right for me..
Let the cake cool for 10 mins in the baking pan, then move it to the cooling rack.

for assembling(optional step)
On the baseboard, apply lil whipping cream to act like glue for holding the cake in place.
Place one layer of cake on the baseboard, smear the raspberry/strawberry preserve, place another layer of the cake.
Using the whipped cream frost on all the sides, and on top of the cake.
Smoothen the edges using a cake spatula.
Decorate by placing fresh fruits.
Note: wash the fresh fruits in water, let it air dry before placing on the cake for decoration

Leave a comment