Chetinadu Vegetable kurma

Woohoo it has been an year and 2 months since I started this blog. Very happy that i am keeping up with posting the recipes I make, sometimes I happen to take long breaks between posts also. Some of the recipes are half drafted and do not make it to the blog, while others are still in my head yet to be drafted :). Over the year many of my friends and family have got to know about my blog, some of them have tried a few of my recipes.. I started this blog as i wanted to save the recipes i experiment and those that get approval from my family… More in the coming year. There has been some life style changes as I have started to follow ayurvedic system. Many recipes I will have to experiment without adding tomatoes… Will keep the posts coming…Looking forward for another great year of blogging.. Happy 1st Birthday to my blog 🙂 ….

Here is one of my favorite recipes which has many vegetables cooked in chetinadu style which I learnt from my friend…enjoy!! (this one still has the tomatoes in the ingredients 🙂 ..)..

image

Ingredients

for seasoning
cinnamon 1/2 inch
clove 2
oil 6 tsps
fennel seeds 1 tsp
curry leaves 15

others
onion 1 sliced thin
tomatoes 2
beans 1/2 cup
carrots 1/2 cup
cauliflower 1/2 cup
bell pepper 1/4 cup
red chilly powder 1 tsp
dhaniya powder 1 1/2 tsp
turmeric 1/4 tsp
salt to taste
ginger garlic paste 1 tsp

make a paste
coconut 1/4 cup
green chilly 4
khus khus 1 tsp

Method

Make a coarse powder of all the ingredients in the “for seasoning” section.
Cut the veggies into long and big pieces, cook in the microwave oven for 8 mins with little water.
Make a paste of the coconut, green chilly and khus khus, set aside.
Heat oil in a pan, add the coarse powder made above.
Let it cook for a 1 min till nice aroma comes.
Now add onion, tomatoes, red chilly powder, dhaniya powder, turmeric and fry till the tomatoes are cooked completely into a paste.
Mix in the coconut paste and continue to cook for 5 more mins.
Add in the cooked veggies, lil water (may be 1/4 cup), salt to taste.
Cover the pan and let cook till veggies are fully done.
Serve hot with rotis.

Leave a Reply

