Filter Coffee

Coffee is a favorite drink in south India. Cannot think of a day that gets started with out a cup of hot filter coffee, aka as kappi. Mornings are filled with the aroma of the coffee in my home as my mom made fresh coffee decoction every single day.
Today my daughter was practicing a tongue twister which is so apt for this post, including it here. Practice this while making your coffee :)..

Proper Cup of Coffee
All I want is a proper cup of coffee
Made from a proper copper coffee pot.
I may be off my tot, but all I want
is a proper cup of coffee made
from a proper copper coffee pot.
Tin coffee pots, iron coffee pots,
they’re no good for me. clap clap
If I can’t have a proper cup of coffee
made from a proper copper coffee pot,
I’ll have a cup of tea.

Ingredients

coffee powder – 6 tsps (I normally use Cothas brand – Indian coffee)
water – 1 cup
milk – 1 cup
sugar as per taste

Method

Heat water till it comes to a boil.
Using a Indian filter, add the coffee powder in the top container and pour the hot water on it.
Let the coffee filter.
Boil the milk.
Pour coffee decoction and milk (1/4 : 3/4 ratio) into a cup and add sugar.
Mix this thoroughly till the sugar is dissolved and has froth.
Reheat for 30 secs, if not hot enough and serve.

Leave a Reply

